The Center is administrated by an Administration Committee and is also supported scientifically by a Scientific Committee including academics, researchers and other experts.

Both the Administration and Scientific Committees have been appointed by the Government of the Hellenic Republic on the basis of proposals put forward by the Council of Europe.

The initial Committees have been appointed by the Minister of Interior (Ministerial Decision 1324/9-4-2003).

Director of ECFF is Prof. Milt Statheropoulos, National Technical University of Athens, School of Chemical Engineering.

Dr Sofia Karma, Chemical Engineer, Teaching Laboratory Staff of NTUA, is an associate member who supports all ECFF scientific initiatives and activities since 2003.